Finding a Spiritual Director

Greater Seattle area (and beyond!) list

of Spiritual Directors

Spiritual direction is a ministry of companioning those who want to go deeper in their relationship with God through Christ. It is a resource for paying attention to the movement of God in every area of one’s life.

In spiritual direction two people have an on-going relationship in which one person (the directee), desires to be more attentive to her or his spiritual life. The directee meets with another person (the director or guide) on a regular basis (approximately once a month) specifically to become more attuned to God’s presence. The director listens and asks questions to assist the directee in his or her process of reflection and spiritual growth.

Eugene Peterson, a Presbyterian pastor, author and professor of Christian spirituality, describes it this way,

“It is teaching people to pray, to discern the presence of grace in events and feelings, affirming the presence of God at the heart of life, sharing a search for light through a dark passage, guiding the formation of a self-understanding that is biblically spiritual instead of merely psychological or sociological. It is ‘space to explore the everyday ordinariness for the presence of God and workings of grace’, precisely at those times when ‘nothing seems to be happening.’”

Greater Seattle Area and Beyond

Please use the following list of Spiritual Directors to help find a director to work with in your area.

Seattle

 

Mark Cutshall — mcutsh@aol.com

Seattle

Ginny Huntsman — lhuntsman@msn.com

Greenlake

Jean Lewis — jeanlewis@mac.com

Bothell

Katrina Obata — katrinao@comcast.net

Seattle

Boni Piper — bonipiper45@gmail.com

Seattle/Brier

Terry Tripp — ttrippville@comcast.net

Madison Park

Margie Van Duzer — margievanduzer@hotmail.com

Ballard

Edmonds

Forrest Inslee — lesterforrestinslee@me.com

John Kiemele — jkiemele@selahcenter.org

Eastside

Lisa Alteio — alteio2@msn.com

Bellevue

Holly Culver — to2wanda@yahoo.com

Kirkland

Linda Fluke — lfluke@uw.edu

Kirkland

Jan Goetsch — jjgoetsch@gmail.com

Issaquah

Teri Larson — watermarkmin@yahoo.com

Kirkland

Lee Martin — lsmart5@yahoo.com

Mercer Island

Bethlyn Miller — bethnmark1@gmail.com

Issaquah

Shelly Morse — shellymorse@msn.com

Renton

Linda Mortensen — llmortensen@comcast.net

Bellevue

Carol Neumann — carol-neumann@comcast.net

Bellevue Presbyterian

Grace Hung Phong — hunghung@gmail.com

Bellevue

Char Roberts — charlottearoberts@comcast.net

Bellevue

Carolyn Shimabukuro — carolynyshimabukuro@gmail.com

Redmond

Judy Steves — jpsteves@msn.com

Bellevue

Sara Wagner — saravwagner@msn.com

Bellevue

Friday Harbor

Becce Bettridge — beccebettridge@rockisland.com

Olympia

Jeff Borden — jeffborden@gmail.com

Dorothy Culliton — dorothyculliton@gmail.com

Poulsbo

Jeff Hora — jeffhora@hotmail.com

Sequim

Paula Mitchell — paulaamitchell@gmail.com

Snohomish

Kathleen Hansen — ksagefemme@aol.com

South Puget Sound

Cindy Waple — cwaple78@gmail.com

Yakima

Gwen Shipley — mmladyg@hotmail.com

Montana

Janet Kerr — janet.kerr7@icloud.com

Kalispel

Ohio

Val Middleton — valorejm@gmail.com